Anime

Psycho-Pass is great – and raises a lot of good issues

Due to having a busy day today, I haven’t had much time to write up an article and the few I have on the go aren’t quite ready yet so to psychologically save myself (see what I did there) from not keeping to my one a day thing, something that’s very important as I start a new blog.

So I would like to say that I have been watching Psycho-Pass finally, thank you very much Crunchyroll-Funimation merger, and based off of the first 7 episodes I think this is going to be one of those anime series that I will end up thinking a lot about in the future because of its superb attitude to tackling how new advances in technology can both screw up and aid our society. There’s certainly a lot more of the former but the world doesn’t seem completely dystopian either which is a very refreshing change in that sort of medium – what’s also refreshing, as it’s been a while since I’ve seen one of these, is its ability to kill off characters without feeling like a pointless gorefest, each death serves the story. I hope it continues that way in both of those ways as I continue watching… and I’ll definitely write a follow-up article when I finish the first season.

And yes, it’s a couple of years old but I have never precluded talking about old anime or old music or old games or old whatever (what do you think I’m doing with all this backfill), in fact I’ll probably enjoy doing that in the future. So that’s another thing this short article will open me up to doing. Lots of catalogue stuff for me to write. No need to be up-to-date with all of this when it’ll be on here forever.

Leave a Reply

